The truth about Adequan

Many of my barn friends spend a HUGE amount of the green stuff on Adequan each year. While I’m obviously in full support of giving your horses’ joints every chance to be happy and last for as long as possible, I can’t help but notice that so many people are pretty uneducated about the most effective, most efficient way to use Adequan. I was certainly fell into this category until I did some exploring, recently.

According the USEF August e-blast, Adequan is intended to be used in in this way to get the maximum benefit of the treatment.

  1. 5mL injection
  2. every 4 days
  3. for 7 treatments

Image

So, the USEF has blown the myth of using Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan (Adequan) once, every month out of the water. If used properly, we will not only maximize the benefits of the product but eliminate using the drug in a way that does not yield results, thus saving us… some moo-lah! I wish I had known this sooner! I administered Adequan monthly, for years. Oh the wasted money!

Leave a comment